Community Based Adult Services (CBAS)


What is CBAS?

CBAS is a community-based day health program for older adults and adults with certain chronic medical, cognitive or mental health conditions, or disabilities who are at risk of needing institutional care. This program used to be called Adult Day Health Care (ADHC).

What services are included in CBAS?

You may receive the following services at a CBAS center:

  • Professional nursing services
  • Social services
  • Personal care services
  • Therapeutic activities
  • One meal per day

Additional Services (as specified in the member's Individual Plan of Care):

  • Physical therapy
  • Occupational therapy
  • Speech therapy
  • Mental health services
  • Registered dietician services
  • Transportation to and from the CBAS center to your home

How do I get CBAS?

You must meet one of the following diagnostic categories:

  • NF-A level of care or above
  • Chronic acquired or traumatic brain injury and/or chronic mental health
  • Alzheimer's disease or other dementia (stage 5, 6, or 7)
  • Mild cognitive impairment, including moderate Alzheimer's (stage 4 dementia)
  • Developmental disability
  • A physician, nurse practitioner or other health care provider, within his/her scope of practice, has requested CBAS services
  • Member needs supervision or assistance with two or more of the following activities of daily living: bathing, dressing, self-feeding, toileting, ambulation, transferring, OR money management, accessing resources, meal preparation or transportation.


Molina will work with you and your doctor if you need this service. A face-to-face assessment will be completed to determine if you meet the eligibility and medical necessity criteria.


For more information, you can call Member Services.