Waiver Services

Along with the medical, behavioral, vision, dental and pharmacy services Molina Healthcare covers, Molina Healthcare also manages certain Long Term Services and Supports (LTSS), or waiver services, for the state of Illinois.

What are waiver services?
Waiver services are Long Term Services and Supports (LTSS) that allow our members and your patients to remain in their own home or live in a community setting. Illinois has nine home and community-based waivers. Each waiver is designed for individuals with similar needs and offers a different set of services. Molina Healthcare manages five of them. You can read more about them here.

The five waiver services Molina Healthcare manages are:

  • Persons with Traumatic Brain Injury waiver
  • Persons with Disabilities waiver
  • Persons with HIV/AIDS waiver
  • Persons residing in Supportive Living Facilities (SLF) waiver
  • Elderly waiver


Eligibility for waiver services
In order to qualify, the member must meet certain eligibility requirements. Molina Healthcare does not determine eligibility into the waiver or nursing home programs. The Illinois Department of Human Services or Illinois Department on Aging performs an assessment, called a determination of need (DON), to see if a member is eligible for Long Term Care or to receive waiver services. If a member qualifies for waiver services, the member will be notified.